Crunchy Asian Salad with Tilapia

You guys. Guess what I did yesterday. I worked out for the first time in forever! Ever since I got my job I’ve struggled to actually make it to the gym. I know that’s a bad excuse, but when I get home after working for 12 hours I definitely don’t want to go work out, and on my days off I just want to read blogs all day get chores done and be a little lazy. But yesterday I did it! Did I drop the exercise ball (ha!) today? Yes. But we like to celebrate the victories over here, so we’ll let that go.

After I came home from the gym I threw this little salad together to finish off my New Years good luck food and was AMAZED at how delicious it turned out! I really was just making this to put a checkmark in the I-ate-some-cabbage-for-the-new-year box, but I will definitely be making this again. The cabbage is mild and light, the carrots add a nice sweetness, the cilantro gives great flavor and color, and the peanuts give the perfect crunch. It’s tossed with that amazing dressing I showed you earlier, and topped with the most delicious marinated fish. You could use chicken instead, but I think the tender fish gives great textural contrast to the hearty salad. Or you could just as easily leave the meat out all together and this would still be divine. Whatever you choose, you should make this. I promise you won’t regret it.

Image

Crunchy Asian Salad with Tilapia

  • Servings: 4 lunch portions
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup sesame ginger dressing
  • 4 tilapia fillets (or other white fish)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 head of red cabbage
  • 1 large carrot, shredded
  • 1/2 cup cilantro
  • 1/2 cup peanuts
  • 2-3 chopped green onions, sliced (optional. I didn’t add them because I didn’t have them, but I think they would have been good. It’s definitely good without though.)
  1. Prepare fish by placing in a shallow dish or ziplock bag and adding enough dressing until the fish is lightly coated. I added about 1/4 cup for two fillets. Seal bag or cover dish and refrigerate for between 30 minutes to 2 hours. If you choose to use chicken instead, refrigerate for longer.
  2. When your fish is almost done marinating, take your red cabbage and cut it into half again so that you have two quarters of a head. Cut the core out of each quarter and then slice thinly as pictured below. Place in a large bowl. Add the shredded carrot, cilantro leaves, peanuts, and green onions (if using). Add 1/2 cup of dressing and toss to combine.
  3. Heat a nonstick pan over medium heat with the olive oil until hot. Remove the fish from the marinade and add to the pan, cooking 3-5 minutes on each side until cooked through.
  4. Divide the salad between 4 plates and top each salad with a fillet of fish. Serve and enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Budget Bytes

STEP BY STEP PHOTOS:

Image

Prepare fish by placing in a shallow dish or ziplock bag and adding enough dressing until the fish is lightly coated. I added about 1/8-1/4 cup for two small fillets. Seal bag or cover dish and refrigerate for between 30 minutes to 2 hours. If you choose to use chicken instead, refrigerate for longer.

Image

When your fish is almost done marinating, take your red cabbage and cut it into half again so that you have two quarters of a head. Cut the core out of each quarter as shown above.

Image

Thinly slice each quarter and place in a bowl.

Image

Talk about eating your colors! Add the shredded carrots, cilantro, peanuts, and sliced green onions (if using).

Image

Add the dressing and toss until all of the vegetables are well distributed and well coated with dressing.

Image

Heat a nonstick pan over medium heat with the olive oil until hot. Remove the fish from the marinade and add to the pan, cooking 3-5 minutes on each side until cooked through.

Image

Mmm…this what my fish looked like after flipping. Look at all of that beautiful caramelization. The honey in the dressing gets all dark and flavorful in the pan. It’s like delicious magic. Like I said, I’ll definitely be doing this again.

Image

Divide the salad between your plates

Image

And top with a piece of fish! Get a bite with some tender, flakey fish and some crisp, hearty salad and you’ll be in your happy place in no time.

7 thoughts on “Crunchy Asian Salad with Tilapia

  1. Pingback: Sesame Ginger Dressing | Caramelized Kitchen

    • Thank you! You should totally make this! I know it might not be the most family friendly for you, but the salad left overs actually keep really well in the fridge! I’ve been eating them for lunch the the past two days. It makes for a nice, easy, healthy lunch!

  2. Pingback: Purple Smoothies | Caramelized Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Purple Smoothies | Caramelized Kitchen

Leave a Reply

