Browned Butter and Roasted Brussels Sprouts Pasta

I’ve mentioned before that my work schedule is pretty weird, but can I just say that my days off are super random. Last week I was all about cooking for the blog and getting things posted here (and got pretty much nothing else done) and this week I’m touching my new space on the internet for the first time on the last full day of my “weekend.” It has been a nice weekend though. Yesterday I just cooked and binge watched my way through Reign (yes, it is 100% a slightly smutty teen soap opera. Don’t judge.) and today I let Eminem pep talk me through through the stair stepper (new favorite work out song), vacuumed, AND did laundry! And I’ve barely cooked at all. Ha, it’s kind of nice to not have a schedule at all for half of the week. It lets me have completely unproductive days, and still have safety net days to actually get things done. Remind me of that next time I’m cursing my schedule. Which might be pretty soon seeing as how I start my eight day work week tomorrow.

Aaanyways, guess what super exciting thing happened! I’ll just show you.

Image

My stainless steel pots and pans arrived!! I have been wanting these for about a year, and after much researching, sale hunting, and budget analyzing they are mine! Look at that stock pot! I can have 8 whole quarts of soup! I couldn’t really even fit a soup recipe in my old little thrift store pot! And look at those pans. I mean, I love my good non-stick pans, but now I can make pan sauces!! Ok, this paragraph has an excessive number of exclamation points, but I’m just really excited. I’ve got a soup recipe that I made yesterday that I’ll be posting here, but I’m about a week and a half behind on posting, so it might be a while until you see a recipe that actually uses these pots and pans. Anyways, I wanted Evan to take a picture of me with the pots to share with you, and he got the picture above. He also took about a thousand more pictures including the one below.

ImageNo, I didn’t flip that the wrong way. In the middle of taking a thousand pictures of me, Evan turned the camera upside down and snapped one of himself, too. He’s such a goof ball.

Image

He also really wanted wanted to get a picture of my reflection in the pot to highlight now shiny they are. They are pretty mirror-like.

ImageThis is their new home. I realize that this is exactly what you’re not supposed to do with a china cabinet (lots of clutter/display things that other than beautiful china) but it works for us. This china cabinet pretty much doubles the amount of cabinet space we have in our kitchen, so it’s a winner in my book!

Today I have delicious recipe for you for Browned Butter and Roasted Brussels Sprouts Pasta. Don’t worry, it is as divine as it sounds. Whoever first thought of roasting vegetables is pretty much my favorite person ever. Seriously, is there anything more delicious? The first time I made this I added some hazelnuts as suggested by the base recipe, but with all the other flavors and textures in this dish I decided that they weren’t really necessary. They were tasty, but if I can leave out an expensive ingredient and still have an exquisite dish, I will. I put them as optional in the recipe so you can add them if you’d like. Also, I doubled the recipe I made here so that it would serve 6 instead of 3. Feel free to half it if 3 servings is more your style. One more thing: I forgot to add the parmesan in these pictures. Don’t make the same mistake. Ok, here’s the recipe without further ado.

Image

Browned Butter and Roasted Brussels Sprouts Pasta

  • Servings: 6
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 12 oz short grain pasta (I used bow tie)
  • 24 oz brussels sprouts
  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 8 Tablespoons butter
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 1/4 cup minced onion (red or yellow)
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese, plus extra for serving
  • 3/4 cup hazelnuts, toasted and coarsely chopped (optional)
  1. Preheat the oven to 425, prepare a baking sheet with foil, and spray with nonstick spray. Boil water for the pasta. Cook according to package directions, drain and reserve.
  2. While the pasta water is coming to a boil, trim the stem and outer leaves of your brussels sprouts. Cut the larger ones in halves or quarters to make all of the sprouts fairly equal in size. Put in a large bowl and add the olive oil, salt and pepper. Toss until evenly coated. Spread onto prepared baking sheet and cook for about 20 minutes or until browned and crispy, turning sprouts half way through cook time.
  3. While the sprouts are cooking, mince the garlic and onion and heat a large pan over medium heat add the butter and cook, swirling occasionally, until browned and fragrant. This is easier to do with a stainless steel pan that will let you see the color of the butter as it cooks. The butter will smell very nutty when it’s done. When the butter is browned, remove to a bowl and skim the foam from the top of the butter.
  4. Add the garlic and onion to the buttered pan and cook until softened. At this point, your pasta and sprouts will probably be done. Add the hazelnuts (if using), cooked pasta, roasted brussels sprouts, and browned butter to the pan and toss to combine. Add the parmesan cheese and toss again. Plate and top with additional parmesan cheese. Eat and enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Two Peas and Their Pod

STEP BY STEP PICTURES:

Image

Preheat the oven to 425, prepare a baking sheet with foil, and spray with nonstick spray. Boil water for the pasta. Cook according to package directions, drain and reserve. While the pasta water is coming to a boil, trim the stem and outer leaves of your brussels sprouts. Cut the larger ones in halves or quarters to make all of the sprouts fairly equal in size.

Image

Put in a large bowl and add the olive oil, salt and pepper. Toss until evenly coated. Spread onto prepared baking sheet and cook for about 20 minutes or until browned and crispy, turning sprouts half way through cook time.

Image

I know this recipe used a weird amount of onion, so here’s a suggestion. I always keep some chopped red and yellow onions in the freezer that I can use whenever I don’t want to take the time to chop onions. If I ever come across a recipe that calls for half of an onion, I just chop up the leftover half and freeze it for later use. For this recipe I just pulled out the amount of frozen, chopped red onion  that I needed and minced them. Easy peasy with a little forethought. Anyways, now mince your onion and garlic at this point.

Image

This is what your brussels sprouts will look like when they’ve been cooked, flipped, then cooked some more. Mmmm, are you drooling? I am.

Image

Heat a large pan over medium heat add the butter and cook, swirling occasionally, until browned and fragrant. This is easier to do with a stainless steel pan that will let you see the color of the butter as it cooks. The butter will smell very nutty when it’s done. When the butter is browned, remove to a bowl and skim the foam from the top of the butter. This is what my butter looked like after I browned and skimmed it. It could have gone for a little longer, but this was before I had my stainless steel pans, so it was hard to tell what the color actually was in my non-stick pans. It’s definitely better to err on the side of less browned than burnt.

Image

Add your minced onion and garlic to the buttered pan and cook until softened.

Image

Add the hazelnuts (if using), cooked pasta, roasted brussels sprouts, and browned butter to the pan and toss to combine. Add the parmesan cheese and toss again. Close up!

Image

Ok, here’s a picture from a more normal distance. It’s so beautiful!

Image

Plate and top with additional parmesan cheese. Eat and enjoy! Mmm, excuse me while I go to the store and get all of the ingredients to make this again.

6 thoughts on “Browned Butter and Roasted Brussels Sprouts Pasta

  1. Congrats on the new pots, they look quite familiar ;). I’m sure you will like them. This recipe looks yummy, I will have to try it! I support anything with browned butter. Have you ever made browned butter corn? Super easy and super delish, it’s a fave over here.

    • Yes maam! They’re the Tramontina, but I got a little bit of a different set than you. I love them so far! But they get white spots on the inside on the bottom of the pots for some reason, do yours do that? Browned butter corn sounds amazing! I’ll have to try that out!

Leave a Reply

