Purple Smoothies

Purple has had a big place in my life the past few years. It all started four years ago when I moved in with my wonderful past roommates. One of my roommates was and has always been obsessed with purple. As in, somehow purple is a significant part of her personality. It doesn’t make sense if you don’t know her, but just understand that purple is a part of Carissa. The obsession slowly spread through the rest of us, elevating purple from a color to a culture. We read books about purple, listened to songs about purple, wore substantial amounts of purple, and learned what color should never be paired with purple.

Our collective love for purple was further solidified after watching Never Say Never and falling for the Biebs. Ah, let’s just take a moment to reminisce about a simpler time. A time when JB sang songs about his first love and empowered us to always follow our dreams. You know, before the America kicked him out of this great nation. Before the creeper white-boy ‘stache, before the DUI, before the assault charges, even before the baby-daddy claims. Before all of that, JB made a Belieber out of all of us with his humble, purple-loving spirit. (I really want to add hyperlinks for all of the JB news items, but I feel like my linkages in this post are getting a little excessive. Resist the urge!)

So, as I said, purple has become a big deal in my life, so when a recipe popped up on my reader for something entitled “Purple Resolution Smoothies” I knew I couldn’t resist trying them out. Well, no shocker here, they were fabulous. They did their color proud. Past roommates and Justin Bieber, this one is for you.

Image

Purple Smothies

  • Servings: 2
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup plain or vanilla yogurt (greek or regular)
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1/2 cup frozen mixed berries
  • 1/3 cup packed red cabbage
  • 1/2 banana (frozen or fresh)
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 3/4 cup grape juice

Combine all ingredients in a blender, adding the yogurt first. Blend until smooth. Serve and enjoy!

Recipe lightly adapted from the Pioneer Woman

STEP BY STEP PHOTOS

Image

Combine all ingredients into blender, adding the yogurt first. This will help the rest of the ingredients blend well. That’s right, there’s red cabbage in there. Just go with it! It definitely works. If you have left over cabbage use it in this! You won’t regret it!

Image

Blend until smooth. If it isn’t blending thoroughly, add some more juice and until it all blends smoothly.

Image

Drink and let the magic of purple soothe your soul.

11 thoughts on “Purple Smoothies

    • I understand, but it really does work! Red cabbage is way more mild than I thought it would be. I only recently tried it for the first time (that I can remember.) Also, you should definitely try that red cabbage salad I posted before. I’m a little obsessed with it. But if it freaks you out, this would still be super delicious without the cabbage! 🙂

  1. I love the shout out and all the hyperlinks. I’m glad the purple culture is engraved in all of us. Also, I’m loving your food photography!

  2. So much purple! I love it! haha I want to make this every day… Also the English major in me just wants to point out the “since” in your 5th sentence should be “sense” 🙂

  3. We had a craving for smoothies after our workout Saturday night and I didn’t have all of the ingredients listed above on hand but I did have purple cabbage. So, of course, I threw some into the blender (without telling anyone else who was drinking the smoothie) and everyone agreed that the smoothie turned out great! It even turned a very light shade of purple. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Apple Cranberry Kale Salad | Caramelized Kitchen

Leave a Reply

