Crusty No Knead Rolls

Evan and I did the coolest thing last weekend. The temperatures dropped to around freezing (apparently I’ve officially adjusted to Texas weather because the high 30s feel a little like death now) so we decided to actually make use of our fireplace! We got some super-s’mores supplies, some wood, and a movie and settled down for an awesome night in. S’mores are one of my favorite things, and fire is another of my favorite things, so this really was a perfect night for me. I definitely inherited my sister’sย pyromaniaย zeal for the flame. Here was our wonderful set up!

Image

So fun, right?? Our TV normally sits on our fireplace, so we just moved it (and it’s accompanying 1,000 wires) over to make room for the main event of the evening. You know how I said we got our super-s’mores supplies? That wasn’t just me being overly excited. Evan and I have discovered that the perfect s’more goes like this: graham cracker, chocolate bar, Reece’s peanut butter cup (snack size, not mini), toasted marshmallow, graham cracker. Try it. You’ll never go back. Well, that’s not true, sometimes I have one without the Reece’s just for old time’s sake. But really, you have to try the Super-S’more! That’s right, I added capital letters and an explanation point. That’s how you know I’m serious.

Image

I’m pretty sure fire is one of the coolest things in the world. Aside from how it advanced our species and everything, it’s super pretty. The warm glow of firelight can make anything look like a masterpiece. It’s my favorite.

Image

We quickly learned that our two-pronged-coat-hanger-roasting stick wasn’t the most effective tool for our tiny, one-log fire. But it’s ok because it’s fun to slip the burned outside off of marshmallows, right?

Image

Look at that concentration. That’s an expert marshmallow toaster.

Image

First glorious bite.

Image

Mmmm…. just look at all of those delicious layers. Can you feel my love for these things?

Image

After we finished with our s’mores we settled in to watch R.I.P.D. by the fire. Have you seen that movie? It was great. It combined a good, fun plot with lots of ridiculous humor, and we loved it. Watch the trailer, and if it makes you smile, you should watch the movie. All in all it was a pretty fantastic night. We reminisced about all the bonfires we used to have in the mountains during college, ate delicious food, relaxed in front of the warm glow of the fire, and watched a good movie. It doesn’t get much better than that.

I have a recipe for you today that kind of goes with the theme of our s’mores night. It’s warm, delicious, and oh so comforting. You know that crusty bread that swims in soups in your dreams? The crusty bread that adorns anything with sauce and sops up what’s left over in the dish at the end of the meal? The kind that is divine with nothing but butter on it? I have that bread for you. And bonus: it’s a no knead recipe, so it doesn’t require anything but a bowl, a spoon, and some time to whip up!

The first time I made this recipe, I made it the way the recipe said which led to a VERY wet dough and me completely hating my life. Evan was in the kitchen with me when I was trying, and failing, to shape the dough into rolls, and I told him multiple times that I would never, never, never make this bread again. But then I tasted it and knew that I would deal with the sticky mess all over again for the delicious crusty bread it produced. But I thought I’d try it again just adding less water and see if I could make the same deliciousness without making myself feel all stabby. Guess what? It worked! I did a side-by-side comparison of the two (because Evan said he liked the original better) and flavor and texture wise, there really isn’t a big difference. Evan even picked the updated ones as being better before I told him which rolls were which. I think the kind with more water is prettier. The ones with less water look a little cartoonish, but it just adds to their charm.

Now, this bread does have a longer rise than normal, so you’ll want to plan ahead for it. Also, the bread doesn’t last forever. You can make it last for a few days, and keep that great crust, if you keep leftovers in a brown paper bag, but you probably won’t get more than 3 days out of it. But that’ll just give you more of an excuse to eat it up! All in all, you should make this. It’s by far the easiest bread I’ve ever made and the results are absolutely fabulous.

Image

Crusty No Knead Rolls

  • Servings: 8 rolls
  • Time: 3 to 4 hours
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 3 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 3/4 Tbs instant or bread machine yeast (not dry active)
  • 3/4 Tbs kosher salt
  • 3/4 to 1 1/2 cup warm water
  • Corn meal for dusting baking sheet

Mix together the flour, yeast, and salt. Add water until all of the flour is just barely wet. This normally comes out to about 1 cup of water for me, but it will depend on your flour/climate. Cover loosely with plastic wrap and let rise for 2-3 hours.

At the end of the rise time, spread cornmeal on a foil/parchment paper lined baking sheet in preparation for the dough. Flour a work surface and your hands and scrape the dough out of the bowl and onto the work surface. Knead one or two times just to make all of the dough come together. You can divide in two and form into loaves/boules, or do what I like to do and divide it into 8 for rolls. Shape your dough and place it on the cornmeal dusted baking sheet. Let rise for another hour, preheating the oven to 450 at the end of rise time.

At the end of the second rise, cut slits across the top of the bread and brush liberally with water. When the oven is preheated, put in oven and bake for 15-20 mins for rolls, about 30 mins for loaves, or until golden brown on top. Remove from oven and let cool completely on a cooling rack. Once cool, serve with a meal, or slather in butter and enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Budget Bytes

STEP BY STEP PICTURES

Image

Mix together the flour, yeast, and salt.

Image

Add water until all of the flour is just barely wet. This normally comes out to about 1 cup of water for me, but it will depend on your flour/climate. The original recipe calls for 1 1/2 cup, so definitely don’t go above that. Cover loosely with plastic wrap and let rise for 2-3 hours.

Image

This is about how wet you want your dough. If you touch it some will stick to your finger, but it won’t be a gloopy mess. You could certainly add the full 1 1/2 cups of water if you want, it will just make the dough harder to work with. See the original recipe for what the dough will look like if you take that route.

Image

This is what the dough looked like after rising.

Image

At the end of the rise time, spread cornmeal on a foil/parchment paper lined baking sheet in preparation for the dough. Flour a work surface and your hands and scrape the dough out of the bowl and onto the work surface. Knead one or two times just to make all of the dough come together.

Image

You can divide in two and form into loaves/boules, or do what I like to do and divide it into 8 for rolls.

Image

Shape your dough and place it on the cornmeal dusted baking sheet. Let rise for another hour, preheating the oven to 450 at the end of rise time.

Image

At the end of the second rise, cut slits across the top of the bread and brush liberally with water.

Image

When the oven is preheated, put in oven and bake for 15-20 mins for rolls, about 30 mins for loaves, or until golden brown on top. I baked half of mine on a baking stone and half on a baking sheet to see the difference. I liked the crust from baking stone a little better, but both methods are delicious. If you have a stone, I’d use that, but if you don’t, don’t worry about it.

Image

Oooh my goodness. They’re so beautiful!

Image

See, these are the ones from the baking sheet. Just as delicious looking! Remove from oven and let cool completely on a cooling rack.

Image

I can’t tell you how happy I am that I found these rolls. I’m a complete breadaholic and these little babies are SO cheap and easy that I can indulge in any craving that hits! Look at that fluffy crumb and crispy crust! Serve with a delicious meal or just smear on some butter and go at it! No matter how you enjoy it, you should try these. They’ll become a staple in your kitchen!

4 thoughts on “Crusty No Knead Rolls

  1. The rolls look delicious, did I ever show you my no knead recipe book? I’m a big believer in the method :). Big sister soap box: Just have to say I cringed a little at the thought of you roasting marshmallows over a chemical soaked log. Get some real wood next time, it takes longer to light, but js far less carcinogenic. (Hopping off the soapbox) ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Pingback: Cheesy Chicken Broccoli and Rice Casserole | Caramelized Kitchen

Leave a Reply

